The Queen of Trash Talkin’

jeweled crown

When you were a little girl, did you ever imagine that you would grow up to be a queen? I certainly did. I saw myself regally walking amongst my loyal subjects smiling and nodding my recognition of their fealty.

I knew that I was born to be the Queen of Something. I wasn’t born into a royal family. I didn’t have the money or connections that one would need to gain access to the social circles where I could meet a king—so I had to find another way.

It took me years to accomplish it. It took me even longer to remember my mother telling me that I should be careful what I wished for. One day I realized that, in my quest to be queen, I’d chosen the easiest route to a kingdom that I could absolutely rule. I’d become the Queen of Trash Talkin’ Yourself.

When you’re the Queen of Trash Talkin’ Yourself you:

•  Magnify your faults
•  Ignore your strengths
•  Deflect all compliments
•  Downplay your achievements
•  Refuse to champion yourself

I did all of those things as if I were born to it. I believed that negative voice constantly sounding off in my head and carried myself as if every word were true. I’d brought myself to the most unpleasant kingdom–one that kept me from reaching my goals, celebrating my accomplishments and enjoying my life.

Fortunately, I soon figured out that I no longer wanted to reign as Queen of Trash Talkin’ Yourself. Once I abdicated that throne-I never looked back. Now I’ve learned how to be the Queen of My Own Life and my queendom is the most nourishing place on the planet.

If you have your own little kingdom where you’re the Queen of Trash Talkin’ Yourself, why not leave it behind? It’s a simple shift that anyone can make. The Monthly Practice on Move Into Your Power will get you started.

If you like what you find there, my online course, Move Into Your Power, has even more strategies for leaving behind behaviors that hold you back. Why not try it for free now?

Leave a Reply

